I’m going to say something controversial.
I don’t give a shit about POC looting. In fact, I hope they got all the shit that makes them feel good about their homes. I hope they got nice cuts of meat and over-priced bottles of wine. I hope they got books they can keep and I hope their children got the toys behind lock up cases. I hope the trans women snagged an outfit in her size without a cashier judging them. I want the parents to get themselves something without feeling like they took something away from their children’s needs or desires.
I hope they got new sheets no one else has slept on. I hope they got enough formula to not skip meals to pay for it anytime soon. I hope they got cleaning supplies to fight COVID and medicine to help ease the everyday sicknesses they couldn’t afford to treat. I hope they got something decent to eat. I hope that kid with dreams got whatever bit of technology that can help them create their vision.
The looting doesn’t blip my radar because POC, especially Black POC, have been systematically shut out of the opportunities that would allow them to legally obtain the products necessary to live comfortable lives. I don’t condone stealing but I get in this context.
People say if you can’t afford the nice things then you don’t deserve them. But how is that okay when they’ve been kept out of the places to earn those things? Gentrification, red lining, gerrymandering.... do not get me started on systematic academic gatekeeping- I take that one extra personally because my maiden name and heritage played a role in my academic upbringing. I remember you racist white teachers who talked down my progress and praised every white named kid in class but me and my Hispanic classmates- you’re okay with people not surviving because they couldn’t earn it? When your life is dedicated to surviving and playing the American Dream game (bullshit that white people are suffering delusions of too but can’t face that they have been manipulated themselves) that was set up for you to fail... Yea you should be pissed off and want to take some things that make you feel differently.
You want to say this isn’t about race (I remember when I thought that way too. It’s one of the steps you take to see the bigger picture. Keep going). It’s been about race for a really long time and it’s going to always be about race until you accept that it’s about race!! This is shit is uncomfortable, I get why you’re not talking about it. I get why you want to ignore it. I want to ignore it too because it would be easier. But ignoring it is why it’s not getting better. We can learn to be uncomfortable until it’s not. If you just get through it for a bit, it’ll get better. You jump into uncomfortable things all the time because you learned your body will acclimate, you can do the same thing with this. Only this time, it matters beyond just your life.
You’ll say, “You’d feel differently if your stuff was stolen!” Or “it’s not your home being burned down!” -and you’re right. But here’s the thing: history is full of white people burning down POC’s homes and towns to enforce their will. To enslave POC because they didn’t want to till or harvest their own lands. White people took lands that didn’t belong to them, they took MY heritages lands. They erased our cultures. They said our languages were “unintelligible babble” because they couldn’t be bothered to learn- and I didn’t learn a language that belonged to my history because I believed the racist rhetoric of English academic supremacy. I am part of the problem sometimes too.
So yea, losing my stuff would suck but it isn’t something my history doesn’t recognize. My ancestors survived it, despite all hopes of white colonizers and oppressors, so I can survive it too. And the thing is, I have the privilege of KNOWING I’ll survive because I have home owners insurance- I might not be so bold if that safety net wasn’t there. If that safety net wasn’t there I might snag an extra thing or two myself. I can’t know because I have been privileged in my survival being met. How can any of us know if we haven’t been there?
It’s all just stuff. Let them take it because there’s going to be more stuff.
Just because the system is working for you doesn’t mean the system isn’t broken.
This post isn't about small businesses and homes but I do wonder, if we dug deeper into who was looting those specifically... what would we find? More specifically, who will we find?